WorldCat Cookbook FinderCookbook Finder

Explore cookbooks and more from libraries around the world.

Search

Search Title, Title by Author, ISBN or OCLC #

Current Search

Genres & Subject
  • Authors, American

Narrow Your Results

Format

Audience Level

Content

Genre

Decade published

Search Results

Displaying 1 to 10 of 127

Fried walleye & cherry pie : midwestern writers on food

by:Wolff, Peggy

With its corn by the acre, beef on the hoof, Quaker Oats, and Kraft Mac n' Cheese, the Midwest eats pretty well and feeds the nation on the side. But there's more to the midwestern kitchen and palate than the farm food and sizable portions the region is best known for beyond its borders. It is to these heartland specialties, from the heartwarming to the downright weird, that Fried Walleye and Cherry Pie invites the reader. The volume brings to the table an illustrious gathering of thirty midwestern writers with something to say about the gustatory pleasures and peculiarities of the region.

Editions:5  Date:2013  Genre(s):Anecdotes, Miscellanea, Cookbooks, Cookbooks

Book

The world of Little house

by:Collins, Carolyn Strom

A compendium of biographical and historical anecdotes, recipes, activities, and crafts from the life of Laura Ingalls Wilder and her nine Little House books.

Editions:8  Date:1996 - 2015  Type:Juvenile  Genre(s):Juvenile works, Biography, Cookbooks, Cookbooks

Book

Blue plate special : an autobiography of my appetites

by:Christensen, Kate, 1962-

"In the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, [this book] is a narrative in which food--eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it--becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life. Christensen explores her history of hunger--not just for food but for love and confidence and a sense of belonging--with a profound honesty, starting with her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a mercurial legal activist who ruled the house with his fists"--Dust jacket flap.

Editions:7  Date:2013  Genre(s):Biography, Anecdotes, Autobiographies, Autobiographies

Book

The New great American writers cookbook

by:Wells, Dean Faulkner

Cookery -- American Literature--> Published in 1981, The Great American Writers Cookbook was a treasure trove of recipes submitted by the country's most celebrated authors. This all-new collection, a fine follow-up for a new era, features recipes that range from peanut butter sandwiches to eggplant caviar, with dishes-and anecdotes-offered by writers of every imaginable stripe, ethnicity, region, and culture in America. Contemporary novelists such as National Book Award winners Jonathan Franzen and the late, great Bernard Malamud share space with columnists Dave Barry, P.J. O'Rourke, and.

Editions:7  Date:2003 - 2012  Genre(s):Anecdotes, Anecdotes

Book

As they were

by:Fisher, M. F. K. (Mary Frances Kennedy), 1908-1992

Editions:8  Date:1982 - 2011  Genre(s):Anecdotes, Biography

Book

An extravagant hunger : the passionate years of M.F.K. Fisher

by:Zimmerman, Anne, 1977-

In An Extravagant Hunger, time slows and is relished, and the turning points and casual strolls of M.F.K. Fisher's life are unwrapped and savored. From the Berengaria that washed her across the sea to France in 1929, to Le Paquis, the Swiss estate that later provided a backdrop for some of the most idyllic and fleeting moments of her life, the stories of Fisher's love for food and her love for family and men are meticulously researched and exquisitely captured in this book. Exploring Fisher's lonely and formative time in Europe with her first husband; her subsequent divorce and re-marriage to.

Editions:4  Date:2011 - 2012  Genre(s):Biography

Book

To begin again : stories and memoirs, 1908-1929

by:Fisher, M. F. K. (Mary Frances Kennedy), 1908-1992

"I have never seen any reason to be dull," writes M.F.K. Fisher in To Begin Again, "and since I was less than four I have enjoyed entertaining and occasionally startling anyone who may be listening." From those first stories told at the family dinner table she has continued to startle and entertain new generations of readers over the decades of her long and interesting life. She ostensibly writes about food, but while doing so Fisher created a genre, another way to talk passionately about all the hungers and satisfactions of the human heart. W.H. Auden called her "the best prose writer in America." Throughout her career Fisher made it a practice to circle back, returning often to her past in memoirs, stories, and journals. Less interested in the facts, perhaps, than in the truth that lies behind them, To Begin Again provides us with a new portrait of her early years, from her family's migration to California in 1912 to her first marriage in 1929. Some pieces were written as early as 1927, some as recently as 1990. All are suffused with her trademark wit, intelligence, and insight. Fisher speaks here of the people and events which first shaped her finely tuned and lasting appetites. During these years of "learning to live well gastronomically" she spent several rugged summers with Aunt Gwen, catching and frying fresh rock bass, carrying fried-egg sandwiches "greasily in our pockets on our long treks in every direction of that wild deserted country." This was when the young Fisher first felt the value of being nurtured in body and soul. Later during sensual family dinners free of the dietary strictures normally imposed by her absent grandmother, Fisher began to wonder about happiness and "how it seemed to be connected with open enjoyment of even a badly prepared dish that could be tasted without censure of the tasting." From the first glimpse of the precocious nineteen-year-old, keenly observant and eager for freedom, through the rich remembrances of Fisher in old age, To Begin Again offers great rewards.

Editions:6  Date:1992  Genre(s):Biography, Biographies, Biographies

Book

Last house : reflections, dreams, and observations 1943-1991

by:Fisher, M. F. K. (Mary Frances Kennedy), 1908-1992

The final collection of writings by the critically acclaimed author features journal selections and essays on topics ranging from food to literature to personal relationships.

Editions:6  Date:1995  Genre(s):Biography, Biographies, Biographies

Book

Stay me, oh comfort me : journals and stories, 1933-1941

by:Fisher, M. F. K. (Mary Frances Kennedy), 1908-1992

M.F.K. Fisher worked diligently, and against time, in the months just before her death to assemble her never-before-published journals, short stories, and correspondence, weaving them into two volumes. Continuing where she left off in To Begin Again, this book presents a candid and revealing portrait of the artist during what may have been the most traumatic period of her life. Fisher and her first husband, Al, had returned from France to California by 1933, but the Depression had reduced their hopes and frustrated their artistic aspirations. After a short stay, they left California for Switzerland, accompanied by their friend Dillwyn Parrish.

Editions:6  Date:1993 - 1995  Genre(s):Biography, Biographies, Biographies

Book

Kitchen confidential : adventures in the culinary underbelly

by:Bourdain, Anthony

New York Chef Anthony Bourdain tells tales of the kitchen in this straight-forward testimony of his life and cooking.

Editions:19  Date:2000 - 2010  Genre(s):Biography, History

Audiobook

Displaying 1 to 10 of 127