WorldCat Fiction FinderFiction Finder

Explore fiction and movies from libraries around the world.

Advanced Search

Enter search terms in at least one of the fields below

Current Search

Genres & Subject
  •  Allegories
Genres & Subject
  •  OR Allegories

Narrow Your Results

Format

Audience Level

Genre

Decade published

Search Results

Displaying 11 to 20 of 1613

Death comes for the archbishop

by:Cather, Willa, 1873-1947

The story of a French priest who goes to New Mexico with another priest and wins the Southwest for the Catholic Church. After 40 years, he dies--the archbishop of Santa Fe.

Editions:382  Date:1926 - 2019  Genre(s):Historical fiction, Historical fiction, Christian fiction, Historical fiction, Allegories

Book

Light in August : the corrected text

by:Faulkner, William, 1897-1962

Joe Christmas does not know whether he is black or white. Faulkner makes of Joe's tragedy a powerful indictment of racism; at the same time Joe's life is a study of the divided self and becomes a symbol of 20th century man. Light in August is the story of Lena Grove's search for the father of her unborn child, and features one of Faulkner's most memorable characters: Joe Christmas, a desperate drifter consumed by his mixed ancestry.

Editions:438  Date:1930 - 2014  Genre(s):Allegories, Psychological fiction, Stream of consciousness fiction, Allegories, Stream of consciousness fiction

Book

The black tulip

by:Dumas, Alexandre, 1802-1870

Overview: Cornelius von Baerle lives only to cultivate the elusive black tulip and win a magnificent prize for its creation. But when his powerful godfather is assassinated, the unwitting Cornelius becomes caught up in a deadly political intrigue. Falsely accused of high treason by a bitter rival, Cornelius is condemned to life in prison. His only comfort is Rosa, the jailer's beautiful daughter, who helps him concoct a plan to grow the black tulip in secret. As Robin Buss explains in his informative introduction, Dumas infuses his story with elements from the history of the Dutch Republic (including two brutal murders) and Holland's seventeenth-century "tulipmania" phenomenon.

Editions:868  Date:1000 - 2018  Genre(s):History, Historical fiction, Allegories, Biographical fiction, Biographical fiction

Book eBook Available

All the king's men

by:Warren, Robert Penn, 1905-1989

A dynamic backwoods lawyer batters his way into the governor's mansion, where he uses his unprincipled charm to become a brutal dictator.

Editions:370  Date:1944 - 2015  Genre(s):Political fiction, Political fiction, Allegories, Historical fiction

Book

Watership Down

by:Adams, Richard, 1920-2016

Chronicles the adventures of a group of rabbits searching for a safe place to establish a new warren where they can live in peace.

Editions:316  Date:1900 - 2019  Genre(s):Fantasy fiction, Adventure fiction, Fantasy fiction, Allegories, Action and adventure fiction

Book

The octopus : a story of California

by:Norris, Frank, 1870-1902

"Deals with the war between the wheat grower and the railroad trust."

Editions:377  Date:1900 - 2018  Genre(s):Didactic fiction, Didactic fiction, Didactic fiction, Railroad stories, Allegories

Book eBook Available

The golden bowl

by:James, Henry, 1843-1916

Henry James' story of a pair of adulterous lovers who are married, respectively, to a rich American collector of European art and to his inexperienced daughter provides-beyond its expensive, burnished, beautifully appointed exteriors-an understanding of the rises and betrayals inherent in society that is unparalleled in literature.

Editions:434  Date:1843 - 2018  Genre(s):Domestic fiction, Psychological fiction, Psychological fiction, Domestic fiction, Allegories

Book eBook Available

The master and Margarita

by:Bulgakov, Mikhail, 1891-1940

A translation of a classic on a writer's pact with the devil in Stalinist Russia. He wants to obtain publication of a novel about the police state of Pontius Pilate which the censor has banned.

Editions:895  Date:1958 - 2019  Genre(s):Political fiction, Political fiction, Allegories, Allegories, Allegories

Book

Cousin Bette

by:Balzac, Honoré de, 1799-1850

The crown jewel in a remarkable literary career, Cousin Bette is regarded by many critics to be Balzac's last great work before his death in 1850. A fine example of European realist fiction, the story recounts the attempt of a disgruntled housewife to bring about the misery and destruction of her entire extended family. Fans of Tolstoy's War and Peace will enjoy Cousin Bette.

Editions:785  Date:0001 - 2018  Genre(s):Allegories

Book eBook Available

The satanic verses

by:Rushdie, Salman

A hijacked jumbo jet blows apart high above the English Channel. Two figures, Gibreel and Saladin, are washed up on an English beach. Soon curious changes occur -Gibreel seems to have acquired a halo, while Saladin grows hooves and bumps at his temples.

Editions:246  Date:1889 - 2017  Genre(s):Didactic fiction, Didactic fiction, Allegories, Didactic fiction

Book

Displaying 11 to 20 of 1613